Thursday, January 12, 2017

By Lee Samuels

Las Vegas – It was dicey early then the top goal scorer got wired in for the WSHL Las Vegas Storm on Thursday night.

Final score: Las Vegas, with its most complete team in its three seasons in the WSHL, scored 14 times, the Phoenix Knights were shut out on an icy rainy night at the Las Vegas Ice Center on a cold North Rink.

Ted Astrom scored 3 goals as did Jean Christophe Lachapelle. The Storm also got an astounding effort from one one its youngest skaters, #88 Sam Sykes who moved fast and brilliantly all over the ice to get to the right spot to help set up the Storm’s older skilled goal scorers.

The shutout went to Storm’s ultra skilled goalie Spencer Kozlowski.

Games two and three of this series are on Friday and Saturday nights here.

From the Blue Line –  Storm GM/Head coach Gabe Gauthier was pretty calm on the bench. He didn’t even loosen his tie during the early moments of the game when the Storm players were getting their game smoothed out…Cody Fulwiler, who years ago was one of the best – if not the best – goalie in Las Vegas, was the referee…Las Vegas raised its season record to 17-13-2 and is in 4th place – a playoff spot – in their division.  The Storm is 9-5-1 overall on the friendly confines of the North Rink at the Ice Center…..At the Ice Center’s snack bar there was talk about a run on Skittles – some purchased by skaters – just before the game got underway.


WSHL Las Vegas Storm 14, Phoenix Knights 0

LV – Ted Astrom 24th goal this season (Joey Allegrini assist)

LV – Nikita Pintusov 25th (Brenden Fehlig, Jake Mckenna)

LV – Jeffery Morgan 18th (Isaiah Letendre)

LV – Nick Peck 3rd (Nikita Pintusov, Amandus Laukkanen)

LV – Jean-Christophe Lachapelle 10th (Sam Sykes)

LV – Jeffery Morgan 19th (Kyle Molony)

LV – Joey Allegrini 6th (Seth Bergeron)

LV – Ted Astrom 25th (Jeffrey Morgan)

LV – Jean-Christophe Lachapelle 11th

LV – Jean-Christophe Lachapelle 12th (Joey Allegrini)

LV – Nikita Pintusov 26th (Amandus Laukkanen)

LV – Nick Peck 4th

LV – Ted Astrom 26th (Jeffrey Morgan)

LV – Isaiah Letendre 20th (Joey Allegrini)