Flashback – 15 seasons ago – Thanksgiving 2002

For years Las Vegas tier travel teams played in big Thanksgiving Day tournaments. This was way back in 2002 when the AAA Las Vegas Outlaws took on the AAA San Jose Jr Sharks. This is the preview story we filed for our previous website Vegashockey.com

By Lee Samuels

Las Vegas – One of Las Vegas’ most fierce rivals, the AAA San Jose Jr Sharks are on the ice at the Santa Fe Stations Ice Arena this holiday weekend. The Sharks are coached by Brandy Semchuk, a 1990 draft pick of the NHL L.A. Kings. He went up with the Kings, then skated for the Phoenix Roadrunners, San Antonio Iguanas, Nashville Knights and Fresno Fighting Falcons.

Semchuck, from Calgary, has put together some powerful hard skating midget-level teams in San Jose. This season the Sharks are off to a 10-5-3 start including two wins 9-1 and 7-2 over the Oakland Bears last weekend.

In September Las Vegas played San Jose and broke to a 4-1 lead. The Sharks rallied to tie and the Las Vegas Outlaws scored with 1:16 left to win 5-4. It was a very important game, the opener in the Washington Totems Tournament in Seattle.

Las Vegas, 19-6-4 and rated #18 nationally by Midgetaaa.com, is coached by Rob Pallin of Minnesota. He is in his third season and Las Vegas is coming off a 60-11-3 season which included a Pacific Regional gold medal and a 3-1 record at the U.S. Nationals. Last winter Las Vegas smashed 30 team records.

AAA San Jose Jr Sharks 18u

#4 Justin Bezart, #7 Ryan Block, #9 Mark Reyes, #11 Chris Plummer, #12 Kevin Wright, #13 Jon Fox, #14 Mark Petito, #16 Brett Haraguchi, #20 Joey Ohanian, #22 Ben Caldwell, #27 Brett Sutter, #28 Zach Kuster, #30 D.S. Watson, #34 Devin McNabe, #55 Nic Ulrich, #66 S. Scarbrough, #82 Miles Wallace, #89 Nic Sandoval.

AAA Las Vegas Outlaws 18u

#4 Josh Shiode, #5 Justin Johnson, #6 David Lewandowski, #7 Scott Chisholm, #8 Nate Rein, #9 Eddie Samuels, #10 Cody Morin, #11 J.C. Caron, #12 Eric Bowman, #16 Josh Jasek, #17 Travis Roseberry, #18 Spike Neely, #24 T.J. Craig, #27 Alex Redmond, #30 Zach Whisman, #31 Cody Fulwiler, #83 Eddie Del Grosso